1974-1975 21st Drama Desk Awards

Beginning this season the Drama Desk began with nominations and a single (or multiple if tied) winner(s)

Outstanding Actor - Musical John Cullum (Shenandoah)
Tim Curry (The Rocky Horror Picture Show)
Joel Grey (Goodtime Charlie)
    Raul Julia (Where's Charley)
Outstanding Actor - Play   Roy Dotrice (Brief Lives)
Peter Firth (Equus)
Charles Grodin (Same Time, Next Year)
Anthony Hopkins (Equus)
    John Kani (Sizwe Banzi Is Dead / The Island)
Alec McCowen (The Misanthrope)
    Richard Monette (Hosanna)
    Tony Musante (P.S. Your Cat is Dead)
    Winston Ntshona (The Island)
    Donald Sinden (London Assurance)
Outstanding Actress - Musical Angela Lansbury (Gypsy)
    Marsha McClain (Where's Charley)
    Stephanie Mills (The Wiz)
    Bernadette Peters (Mack and Mabel)
    Ann Reinking (Goodtime Charlie)
Outstanding Actress - Play   Elizabeth Ashley (Cat on a Hot Tin Roof)
  Ellen Burstyn (Same Time, Next Year)
    Entire female cast (Women Behind Bars)
    Tovah Feldshuh (Yentl the Yeshiva Boy)
    Rita Moreno (The Ritz)
    Diana Rigg (The Misanthrope)
    Maggie Smith (Private Lives)
    Liv Ullman (A Doll's House)
Outstanding Choreography   Dennis Denehy (The Lieutenant)
  George Faison (The Wiz)
    Roger Morgan (Saturday, Sun, Mon)
    Donald Saddler (Good News)
    Margo Sappington (Where's Charley)
Outstanding Costume Design Geoffrey Holder (The Wiz)
    Willa Kim (Goodtime Charlie)
    John Napier (Equus)
    Carl Toms (Sherlock Holmes)
Fred Voelpel (Seascape)
Outstanding Director - Musical Geoffrey Holder (The Wiz)
Arthur Laurents (Gypsy)
Sue Lawless (In Gay Company)
William Martin (The Lieutenant)
    Joel Zwick (Dance with Me)
Outstanding Director - Play John Dexter (Equus)
    Frank Dunlop (Sherlock Holmes)
    Athol Fugard (The Island / Sizwe Banzi Is Dead)
    Peter Hunt (Goodtime Charlie)
    Ron Link (Women Behind Bars)
    Gene Saks (Same Time, Next Year)
Outstanding Featured Actor - Musical   Hinton Battle (The Wiz)
    Pinta DeCola (In Gay Company)
    Jerry Lanning (Where's Charley)
    Gilbert Price (The Night That Made AM Famous)
  Ted Ross (The Wiz)
    Richard Schull (Goodtime Charlie)
Outstanding Featured Actor - Play   Louis Beachner (SThe National Health)
    Larry Blyden (Absurd Person Singular)
    David Dukes (Love for Love / Rules of the Game)
  Frank Langella (Seascapes)
    Philip Locke (Sherlock Holmes)
    Richard Williams (Black Picture Show)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Musical   Boni Enten (The Rocky Horror Picture Show)
    Kelly Garrett (The Night That Made AM Famous)
    Mabel Kingwater (The Wiz)
    Bonnie Langford (Gypsy)
    Penny Milford (Shenandoah)
  Donna Theodore (Shenandoah)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Play   Polly Adams (London Assurance)
    Maureen Anderman (Seascape)
    Carolyn Lagerfelt (The Constant Wife)
    Carole Shelley (Absurd Person Singular)
    Elizabeth Spriggs (London Assurance)
  Frances Sternhagen (Equus)
    Marie Wallace (Avon Lady)
Outstanding Lighting Design   Feder (Goodtime Charlie)
  Neil Peter Jampolis (Sherlock Holmes)
    Julia Trevelyan Omon (Brief Lives)
    Andy Phillips (Equus)
Outstanding Music and Lyrics   Gene Curly, Nitra Schharfman, Chuck Strand (The Lieutenant)
    Jerry Herman (Macka nd Mabel)
    Fred Silver (In Gay Company)
  Charlie Smalls (The Wiz)
Outstanding Musical   Goodtime Charlie
    In Gay Company
    The Lieutenant
  The Wiz
Outstanding New American Play   All Over Town (Murray Schisgal)
    Kid Campion (Michael Wheller)
    Naomi Court (Michael Sawyer)
    P.S. Your Cat Is Dead (James Kirkwood)
    The Ritz (Terrence McNally)
  Same Time, Next Year (Bernard Slade)
    Seascape (Edward Albee)
Outstanding New Foreign Play   Absurd Person Singular(Alan Ayckbourne)
  Equus (Peter Shaffer)
    Hosanna (Michael Tremblay)
    In Praise of Love (Terrence Rattigan)
    The Island (Athol Fugard)
    The National Health (Peter Nichols)
    Sizwe Banzi Is Dead (Athol Fugard)
Outstanding Set Design   John Conklin (Cat on a Hot Tin Roof)
    Tom H. John (The Wiz)
    Scott Johnson (Dance with Me)
    John Napier (Equus)
    Julia Trevelyan Omon (Brief Lives)
    William Ritman (God's Favorite)
  Carl Toms (Sherlock Holmes)
    Franco Zeffirelli (Saturday, Sun, Mon)
Special Mention Donald Sinden (London Assurance)
  Tovah Feldshuh (Yentl the Yeshiva Boy)
Unique Theatrical Experience   Clams on the Half Shell
    Charles Pierce Show
    A Letter from Queen Victoria
  London Assurance
    The Rocky Horror Picture Show
    Saturday, Sun, Mon
    Women Behind Bars


The 56th Drama Desk Awards is
presented by
Blume Media Group

Awards 1

Click here for details

Also Sponsored by:

For Sponsorship Information:
Christopher Raphael 845-987-0303

For Awards Program Advertising:
Allison H. Cohen 212-354-5124

For further information on this Ceremony and Events.
Go to www.DramaDeskAwards.com